Flower Beauty by Drew Barrymore

by beautybones

I was curious about the new Flower cosmetic line by Drew Barrymore found exclusively at Walmart. The site claims to use high end ingredients without the cost. This is due to, the site states, the decision to not invest in major advertisement campaigns as many other brands do. The products are made in the USA and are not tested on animals. I went ahead and tested a range of products.

IMG_1765

IMG_1767IMG_1768

Starting with lip products, above is the Sheer Up Lip Tint in the shade Dewy Rose. It retails for $7.98 and comes with 2.8g of product. The twist-up plastic packaging is light with a frosted cap. The site claims that this is a sheer lip color, but I disagree. Pigmentation is right on. There seems to be an ever so slight shimmer, but due to its glossy finish, it is almost undetectable. Color selection is limited with only 5 colors ranging from a rosy nude to the above seen bright red. I like this product more than the CoverGirl jumbo lip version, but not as much as the Neutrogena version.

IMG_1769IMG_1770

 

I purchased one lipstick from each available formula. Both formulas retail for $6.98 and have 3.5g of product. Both collections also have 9 shades each. The white tube is the Kiss Stick Velvet Lip Color. My particular shade is in LS3 Tender Tuberose. The finish is pretty darn close to matte, but as the name indicates, I’d say it has a touch more of a velvet or satin finish.

The black packaging is the Kiss Stick High-Shine Lip Color. The shade above is LS13 Ginger Lily. As expected, the finish is glossy. I have no qualms with either lipstick formula. They are both creamy, wear like any other decent lipstick, and have only a very slight scent. I’m neutral about the packaging, however I do appreciate having a swatch of the color showing through on the bottom. They are good lipsticks, but nothing to write home about.

IMG_1774

IMG_1775

Cheeks! I’ve been loving cream blushes and this is no exception. The Win Some, Rouge Some Creme Blush retails for $7.98 and has 4g of product. The shade above is in BL5 Primrose & Proper. It is extremely emolient and pigmented. The pot is small, so I’d recommend using a smaller sized stippling brush. It blends out nicely on the skin, and can be easily built up to the level of pigmentation desired. It currently comes in 6 shades.

IMG_1778 IMG_1779

The Ready, Set, Glow! Blush/Bronze Duo retails for $9.98, has 4 different shades, and has 8g of product. I chose to try out the darkest pairing called BD4 Sunkissed & Single. I was pretty timid and conservative with my initial application, however I soon realized how less pigmented it really was. The above swatch was layered 3 times. I don’t mean this in a negative way. Nobody wants to look like a clown, however the way it looks in the pan is somewhat deceiving. The texture of the product is smooth, however the bronzer has more of a shimmer than the blush, which doesn’t seem to be the typical preference. The packaging gets brownie points from me for having a magnetic closure.

IMG_1771 IMG_1772

The Skincognito Stick Foundation was a tricky one. It retails for $8.98, comes in only 8 shades, and has 9g of product. My personal skin tone is quite fair and leans neutral to cool, so my best educated choice here was shade SF2. Turns out it was still much too yellow for me. Aside from this, I did appreciate the product’s creamy texture and ease of brush blending. It didn’t emphasize any dry, flaky skin, but left my skin a little bit on the dewy side. I tried layering the product to add a little bit of coverage, but I didn’t note a sizable difference. I would call this foundation maaaaaybe  medium coverage. It’s personally not for me, but I think its definitely worth trying. I just tend to be really picky about foundations.

IMG_1776 IMG_1777

Next up, some eye products! Along with creme blushers, I’m also a sucker for cream shadows. Color Play Creme Eyeshadows retail for $7.98, have a decent 12 colors to choose from, and have 3.5g of product. The shade shown above is called CE3 Wild Geranium. The packaging confuses me a bit. Its in a pot, like many cream shadows (think Maybelline’s Color Tattoos), however upon opening it, it has that flat plastic lid just like the Loreal Infallible Eyeshadows. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I thought the purpose of that little lid was to keep the powder of the Infallibles packed in there. I don’t see the purpose of this here with a creme product. Speaking of creme, it actually has more of the texture of a mousse or soufflé, than a creme. I’m okay with that…it was just an observation. 🙂 Skin application is smooth and silky, and this particular shade is quite shimmery and metallic.

IMG_1780 IMG_1781

Last but not least, and quite possibly the star of the show….we have the eyeshadow quads! Shadow Play eyeshadow quads retail for $9.98, have 4 different colorways to choose from, and have a total of 6g of product. This particular quad is called Foxy Browns. It contains 4 shimmer shadows, and a matte dark brown. I appreciate this mixture of finishes, as too many eyeshadow palettes on the market offer all but matte shadows….leaving you with disco eyeballs. The quad comes with a sponge tip applicator, and again, gets my brownie points for the magnetic closure! The texture of these shadows is truly luxurious and creamy, and the pigmentation is perfection. I did a little experiment with these guys….I applied the creme shadow (shown above) as my base, and did my look using this palette. At the end of the day, I took off my makeup…except for my shadow work. (It’s a no-no, but its for the sake of experimentation!) I was pleasantly surprised to see that the following day, my eyeshadow was still in place, and lookin’ good!

My second blog post may be longer than the first! I thoroughly enjoyed trying all of these products, and I appreciate the brand POV. I love that these products are make in the USA, and that they are not tested on animals. (At least the finished products aren’t….more research to be done on this in the near future.) There weren’t any products that I disliked. I would say that the stick foundation was the least exciting as the shades and coverage just weren’t there for my needs. I did very much love the creme blusher and the creme eyeshadow. I look forward to trying more shades. Finally, as I stated above, the star of this collection is the eye shadow quad.

For more info, go to http://www.flowerbeauty.com.

