Tom Ford Cosmetics….Ehhh, What the Heck!

by beautybones

I honestly didn’t think anyone would come across this blog….never mind follow/like/comment on it. What a pleasant little surprise! Many thanks to those who have reached out.

…and I digress…

So, there’s been some buzz about this offensively expensive Tom Ford cosmetics line. There are very few physical counters in the US, so many of us would have to order online and pray to sweet baby jesus that the online $45 lipgloss swatch was dead on. If you really wanted to research further, another option would be to google images of real life swatches…its what I did.

What did I get? I made sure to choose wisely, due to said obscene prices. I purchased a lipstick and eyeshadow quad via neimanmarcus.com.

IMG_1708 IMG_1709 IMG_1710 IMG_1790

The Eye Color Quad is in 03 Cocoa Mirage, retails for $75, and has a total of 10g of product. The price made you throw up a little bit, didn’t it? Me too. I had to know what $75 eyeshadow felt like! The palette comes in a faux suede pouch with “Tom Ford” embossed in the fabric. The packaging is a lightweight dark brown plastic with gold colored trim. The closure is magnetic (yay!), and upon opening the compact there is a large mirror. Along with the 4 eyeshadow pans, included are 2 double ended applicators (3 sponges and 1 tiny angled brush.) This palette offers a good everyday warm brown neutral look. 3 of the 4 shades are matte, and 1 is a shimmer. There is a light, off-white/cream color….good for highlighting the brow bone and inner corners. Next is a basic medium brown. The photo makes it look cool and ashy, but in reality its quite warm. Next, you’ve got your dark shimmery brown. The shimmer isn’t crazy…pretty sophisticated in my opinion. Finally, a nice dark matte brown.

My personal thoughts? I appreciate the emphasis on the matte finish, as opposed to all of the shimmer and glitter seen in most palettes.   The colors themselves are easy, everyday colors. The texture is pretty soft and creamy, but not as much as the Wet n’ Wild shadows. The pigmentation and blendability are good. SO…the million dollar question (or $75 question)…is it worth it? In my honest opinion: it depends on your budget. Now, don’t get me wrong. There is nothing wrong with this product. If Tom Ford is well within your means, then full steam ahead! However, there are comparable products at a better price point.

IMG_1705 IMG_1706 IMG_1789

The Lip Color I purchased is in 03 Casablanca. It retails for $48 and has 3g of product. I would describe this color as a rosy mauve. The formula is full on pigment, so it does pack a punch, but I would consider this a wearable color. With that being said, I will note that I naturally do have fairly pigmented lips. The formula is comfortable on the lips. It is creamy, but it doesn’t have too much slip. The finish is not matte. It does have an element of shine and dimension, but it isn’t glossy by any means. I will say that the wear is rather superior. I can wear this lipstick through a full work day, and still round out the day with an even wash of color.

Is it worth it? I vote yes on this one. I think the finish and wear allows for comfortable everyday use. It still definitely is a splurge item for many of us, but having at least one of these wouldn’t hurt.

