Inglot….Beyond the Eyeshadows

by beautybones

Happy Sunday! I’m hoping we’ll see some spring weather soon, but in true New England fashion…Who Knows!

Today’s little review will be about Inglot. No, I will not be discussing their eyeshadows (unless you want me to.) I just feel like those reviews have been done to death, but If anyone out there actually cares about my particular opinion, I’ll give it a go. Unfortunately for me, I do not have a counter anywhere near me, and their website is rather difficult to work with. The line just lacks any cohesiveness when it comes to their numbering systems, and the site swatches are useless in my opinion. Generally, when it comes to Inglot, I watch lots of reviews and look up plenty of blogger swatches.

Im feeling rather chatty today. On with the products!

IMG_1786

I purchased the AMC Mousse Foundation in FC 100. It retails for $14 and has 11g of product. I also purchased the AMC Cream Blush in 85. It retails for $12 and has 5.5g of product.

IMG_1783 IMG_1784

I don’t have much to say about the blush. Its kind of a gingery red color. Its creamy to the touch, but once blending it into my hand, it felt almost powdery and dry (in a good way.) Off the bat, this gave me the impression that it wasn’t going to feel greasy on the skin, and it indeed doesn’t. The pigment is strong (which I always love.) It does have a slight reflective quality, but it just adds a very slight glow to the skin. ¬†There really isn’t much of a scent to this product. If you stick your nose in the pot, there is a slight hint of…something…perhaps I can describe it as plasticy. Again, its extremely faint, and undetectable on the skin. The packaging is simple. A sturdy, but light plastic pot. The cap twists on and off smoothly. I enjoy this blush. My small stippling brush fits nicely in the pot. The price point is refreshing, especially after those last couple of high end posts!

Next up, we’ve got the foundation. Packaging is the same, and the texture of the product is as it describes: mousse-y. It has a very light weight feel to the skin. Out of the jar, it has a very light almost floral makeup-y scent. I don’t believe this to be an issue. If I’m not mistaken, FC 100 is the lightest shade available (its usually what I always go for.) Now, I fought with this foundation for days, people. First, I applied the Inglot primer, then used my ELF flat top powder brush to apply the foundation. Holy banana hammocks, the dry skin patches were everywhere! My skin looked fine just a moment ago! It was a no go. The following day, I again used the Inglot primer and instead applied the foundation using a damp sponge (Laura Mercier if you’re wondering.) The results were slightly better, if I could even say that. I could still see the emphasis on the dry skin flakies. Yuk! I was about to put this thing to bed, but I had one more idea. I made sure to moisturize (using an SPF) and instead of using the Inglot primer, I used a sample of the Hourglass Serum Primer. I then applied the product with my fingers. Holy hickin’ hillbillies!!! I had a great finish on the skin. It was practically undetectable. O.O I had quite the “Eureka!!!” moment….but don’t get too excited. Turns out, this foundation is VERY sheer. It has a slight bit of buildability, but that’s just not my style.

SO! Verdict on the foundation is that its just not for me. However, I will say, that if you have oily skin, and are looking for light coverage, this little guy might be just right for you, especially at a $14 price point. (Depending on how long it lasts as well)

All for now, lovely friends!

Stacy

