Cotton Pads…I mean $20 Cotton Pads

by beautybones

Today’s my day off. Can’t you tell?

I don’t know if this is going to be a controversial topic or not. I don’t believe cotton pads have that ability, but hey, I could be wrong.

I’ve always been weird about cotton…cotton balls, rounds, squares, etc. Their texture just kind of freaks me out. *hoping someone out there knows what I mean*

I’ve tried using such products (usually purchased from pharmacies) for various applications. Tried using them to remove nail polish. It was okay…until the moistened cotton fibers started sticking to the polish of the hand I was using to hold the cotton. *shudders* Tried using them to remove makeup. It was fine until the pad started pulling apart.

I don’t know. I don’t have a great explanation, but I just don’t like the cotton thing. Do they sell those rounds that you find in those Almay Eye Makeup Remover jars, but dry? That, I could probably do.

Anyway, so I’m on sephora’s site and come across Shiseido’s Facial Cotton. Now, this stuff has practically a 5 star rating AND it costs $9.50. I DID. NOT. GET. IT.

Long story short, I have a gift card, so I give in and purchase. I’m a convert. The shitakie at the pharmacy doesn’t compare to this stuff. My mind is made up.

CURVE BALL!

Now i get a sample of the cle de peau “le coton.” What?!? There are MORE options? I couldn’t wrap my brain around how many different ways you could make cotton squares awesome. Let me (finally) give you some photos/stats/opinions.

IMG_1829

 

Shiseido Facial Cotton: 100% Cotton. Retails on sephora.com for $9.50. There seems to be a question about the quantity of a package. Some people say its labeled on the back, others I think are making up numbers. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I actually opened up my packaged and came to 162….yeah, I don’t know either.

cdp: they claim that the pad is a “blend of refined cotton fibers wrapped in a layer of silk.” Both Barney’s and nordstrom.com are selling a 120 count for $20. O.O

IMG_1831 IMG_1830

 

Differences? Well, Shiseido is smaller and slightly thicker, while cdp is a little larger but slightly thinner. It also has the logo stamped into the square. Aside from the price doubling, thats about it. I honestly can’t tell the different between the two otherwise. They both have more strength when I pull on them the long way. They more easily expand if I pull them wide. (Please keep in mind, the strength of these still doesn’t compare to the pharmacy counterparts.)

Correct me if I’m wrong here, but I’m pretty sure Shideido owns cle de peau. I can’t see the justification of doubling the price for (what looks like) less product than the Shiseido version….which ultimately feels and performs identically.

…..end rant…

 

stacy

